Keiko Kitagawa interview article in “with” September 2014 issue (English translation)

Keiko Kitagawa’s 4 major autumn fashion styles

From serious works to comedy, not only does Miss Keiko Kitagawa have the acting capability to play different feminine characteristics as required by her different roles, her natural styles often seen in her variety show appearances are also overwhelmingly favoured by women of her age. This time we invited Miss Kitagawa to share with “with” readers her fashion styles for autumn and what captures her attention today!

Look 1: Knit cardigan with stripes X white trousers

“Sporty styles are a focus for autumn wear; check out this type of striped cardigan! As long as a white bottom is chosen, even darker tops can show off a lively look.”

“I like the colours of this combination; as I prefer regular glasses over sunglasses, I would use eyeglasses as an accessory for my outfit.”

I believe fashion style is expressed by the self

Wearing simple black overalls to the photo shoot, Miss Keiko Kitagawa already had impressive achievements since her teenage model years. Today she still loves fashion and when trying on the new autumn styles prepared by us, she constantly added her opinion about the outfit such as “with this outfit, I want my hair to be like this”.

“Fashion is very interesting! Although I rarely have the opportunity to spend a whole day shopping in leisure, but when I am able to end work early, I would go out right away, or I would buy the outfit prepared by the stylist so I can enjoy fashion. Recently I like the kind of yarn top such as that in Look 1 with the rhinestones on the collar! I have many (laughs) in white and black; as long as it is smooth and shiny, they look good worn by itself or under a jacket, or matched with a cardigan such as for today. It feels good to be able to wear different looks from one type of clothing.”

We asked if she has any reference styles or looks that she aspires to…

“There are no specific styles, but I have felt ‘that is amazing’ after watching some senior actresses. A few days ago I met Ms. Miki Maya and saw her deliberately combine jeans with a denim shirt in an outfit then add a jacket; although it was a masculine look overall, she wore high heels to bring out a completely feminine style. This kind of individual style combination is very alluring!

I feel the clothes I choose would naturally display my condition, so when I dress myself now I would think carefully and not pick the outfit only for that day’s purpose. Recently, while picking out my outfit, I thought ‘even though I like masculine styles, it seems I have been wearing neater looks’ and try to find styles that are not too sweet but also not too sexy, to achieve a comfortable balance that I feel good in.”

Look 2: Logo cotton top X seamless A-line skirt

“A-line skirts have been popular since the spring. Those that use thick material to build a three dimensional effect can be combined with logo cotton tops to achieve a casual look.”

“Since I bought a similar black A-line skirt, I decided to tuck in my top. Even though I usually wear t-shirts or yarn tops, I also like the sporty feel of cotton tops.”

Look 3: Cardigan in autumn colours X ladylike dress

“Elegant ladylike dresses need to be matched with cardigans in autumn colours in order to reflect the season’s look. Only vintage accessories are chosen.”

“Regardless of whether it’s feminine or popular styles, right now I am seeking a balance that makes me feel comfortable. I hope to repeat this exercise while at the same time create my own fashion style!”

“When I am meeting someone or appearing in talk shows, I would to wear a dress. I especially like vintage ladylike styles.”

Look 4: Big earrings X rhinestone necklace

“I like big vintage rhinestone necklaces as they allow the outfit to release an air of elegance.”

Upon encountering a bottleneck I would find another way, and repeat the cycle!

Broadcasting since this July, Miss Kitagawa plays a lead character in the new drama “Hero 2”. As this is a sequel of a popular show, Miss Kitagawa said that even though she initially arrived on set with anxiety, once shooting began the atmosphere was very cordial. Lead by her co-star Mr. Kimura, other senior actors accepted her warmly which made her very happy.

“To the other actors in the cast, I am perhaps a little sister. This production is like a ‘stage show’ in that many scenes are driven by the script. Since I have not often been in this kind of production before, it is a new challenge for me. Even though sometimes I would anxiously feel ‘OK, I need to control my timing for saying my lines’, as an actress I can take this as training.”

From comedies to historical dramas, her works are varied and she has played all types of roles, such as the daughter of a rich family, an apprentice scriptwriter, a female chef and so on. Each time Miss Kitagawa’s performance deeply impressed us; this time she plays a strong administrator. When she accepts new challenges, does she feel anxious?

“Of course I do! But now I always think ‘be my best’ and practise in my mind using imagery! I would try to approximate my imagined scene to be as similar as possible as reality…when I find the point of ‘it’s probably like this’ I would head towards that direction with all that I have. If I am wrong or if I encounter a bottleneck, I would return to my starting point and think of another way, and then repeat the cycle. When I am faced with something I am unsure about, I believe it is important to not be lost; this is like imagining being the women I admire, as long as I find the thought of ‘I want to be like this’ it means I have found the answer. What remains is just hard work!”

My goal is a meaningful personal life, and I am challenging cooking right now

With 11 years’ experience in the entertainment industry and her 28th birthday this year, what changes does Miss Kitagawa have in her personal life? Is there anything she wants to do?

“I am coming to the end of “Daisakkai”! (a period of bad luck according to Rokusei Senjutsu astrology) During that period, I was always working…my personality is such that when I make a decision, that is the only thing that I see. But I think I should also find hobbies outside work or slowly create time for my own enjoyment! I originally wanted to take more time to read and watch movies; I should practise how to schedule myself.

What I have started to do is cooking. In the drama ‘Miwotsukushi Ryoricho’ I play a chef, and as I get older what I eat easily reflects on my physical condition. As the saying goes, ‘the guts don’t lie’ (laughs). So when I have the opportunity to cook, I would browse Cookpad and cook myself. Yesterday I stewed beef in red wine and also made curry! Even if I am by myself, making an effort to cook leads to tasty results and feels meaningful. In the past I often say to friends ‘which restaurant should we go to’, but now after learning cooking it becomes inviting them to my home and thinking ‘what should I cook’. This is a nice change!”

Translated by this blogger using the Hong Kong Chinese edition with reference to the Japanese original where necessary.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

